Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

new to archery..question

Old 07-10-2008, 03:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default new to archery..question

the bow string is turning or something and when I draw the string covers the peep sight. It was fine when I drew back at the archery shop but now I cant even see through the peep sight because of the string. what should I do?? thanks for anyone who can help.
Old 07-10-2008, 03:14 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: new to archery..question

d-loop?
Old 07-10-2008, 03:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

My nock is a d loop but Im only having problems with the peep sight. When I draw the string turns and the peep hole is covered almost by the string.. Know what I mean? I'm new to archery so hopefully I can get this figured out.. I feel dumb
Old 07-10-2008, 03:25 PM
Typical Buck

the reason I asked if you had a dloop is,

sometimes if the peep is turning, then the D-loop could be loose, if it is then try to tighten it up after you align it and the peep opening,

if it is tight, then try to twist the dloop so that it is aligned with your peep.

what kind of bow? do you have a string stop/surpessor?
Old 07-10-2008, 04:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

The wayI have always fixed that is to put the bow in the press and take the sting off and rotate it until the peep rolls into the right place, of course I am kinda old school and dont shoot d-loop's. What is happening is when you draw your bow the string is rolling (which is normal) but it will interfere with your peep if not adjusted correctly, which is where all the loops came into play and they protect your string (I shoot a rope release)...
If you are limited to a shop,I would suggest going back there and getting them to fix it for you!!!!
Old 07-10-2008, 05:03 PM
Giant Nontypical

Is this on a new bow?

Was the string shot in before installing the peep?