Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

dominant eye ?

Old 03-20-2008, 06:41 PM

Default dominant eye ?

I am fairly new to the sport of archery,still working on my form. I am right handed but left eye dominant. I have been shooting right handed with my left eye closed and have getting 6 inch groups of 5 ( hopefully more practice will shriek it to 3 ). I have been told to switch to left handed shooting so I can have both eyes open. I tried that and when focus on the pins the target is blurry and visa versa. Is this right ? Does shooting with one eye closed really make a difference in the tree stand? Any help to improve my form would be greatly appreciated. thank you
Old 03-20-2008, 06:56 PM
Spike

Default RE: dominant eye ?

i have an uncle who has shot along time with boyh eyes open. me i only use one, my right and i am left eye dominant also. my advice is to keep shooting the way you feel comfortable. i have always been a good shot with one eye closed and one open. to bring that group together you just have to shoot a lot of arrows. make sure you draw back to the same spot on your face everytime. its thoe small things that improve accuracy.

Old 03-20-2008, 07:51 PM
Giant Nontypical

I agree with most coaches on this one,you shoot with the dominant eye.I believe it will become more comfortable to shoot this way after getting over the initial change.(there are exceptions)

My daughter is right handed and left eye dominant and she made the switch with a little encouragement from me,she was very comfortable after just a short time.She now shoots guns and bows left handed and has even made the switch to a left handed hitter for softball.
Old 03-20-2008, 09:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

If you will see I have both bows RH and LH, I had to finally change from RH to LH, due to eye dominance problems, it was not really that hard.