Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Cam sync/timing.

Old 02-27-2008, 11:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Cam sync/timing.

I've spent the past three days reading up (via the searches) on cam sync vs cam timing. I even googled some sources on the issue, and what the ONLY thing I've concluded is the terms "sync" and "time" are used differently by so many sources to describe different things. I can't seem to get an idea of what the difference truly is (although I know there is).

Here's what I've gathered so far, and feel free to set me straight (that's what I'm after, as I'm very new to all of this).

Cam sync:

This refers to the relation/orientation of the cams with respect to each other (only pertains to a dual cam, binary, and hybrid, no single cams, correct)? Not only is cam snyc referring to rotational position, but ALSO rotational speed, correct? In theory hybrid cams would be out of synch due to the mismatch in size between the two, but Hoyt has engineered it (cable orientation to the cams and how it's wrapped) so that the cams do rotate at the same speed and same point through the draw cycle when snyched, correct?

Cam timing:
Refers to the rotational position of the cams at brace and at full draw. Just because the cams hit the draw stops at the same time doesn't mean it's timed correctly, right? Doesn't timing deal more or less with utilizing the best position of the cams to get the most out of the draw/force curve? So for instance, your cams are a bit under/over rotated at brace, they will also be over/under rotated at full draw, correct? Therefore you're not utilizing the most potential energy and full efficiency of the cam, correct?

My problems with this issue is this: