Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bohning PLastic Fletch Kit (red)

Old 02-19-2008, 09:26 PM
Fork Horn

Default Bohning PLastic Fletch Kit (red)

I have the bohning plastic fletching kit with the straight jig. I was told by my local shop that trying to put helical on blazer 2" vanes is not possible. I have been reading today on the forum that this is possible. Also I have read about offset. I am still learning this whole fletching thing (first year at doing my own) can anyone please tell me how to fletch with an offset using my setup and two if I by the helical jig which one shol I use (right or left)? I draw back with my right hand I don't know if this makes a difference in helical choice. I having been shooting archery equipment for many years but always shot what the shop said ws best for me and now I want to better understand the technical side of archery to hopefully get more accurate.
Old 02-19-2008, 09:39 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Bohning PLastic Fletch Kit (red)

I was told by my local shop that trying to put helical on blazer 2" vanes is not possible.
Some pro shops shouldn't use the term "pro".

I fletch blazers with helical all the time. It is just a simple matter of adjusting the clamp properly just like you would any other fletch. Many "pro shops", and many people in general,say that you can't fletch them with helical because they are so short. But think about it this way. Take a 4" vane and set it up for a hard right helical. Once you have it set correctly cut the vane in half and glue it to the shaft. Did the vane some how make it impossible to use the helical clamp just because it is now shorter? Wasn't the back two inches of the vane in the clamp when it was wet up? Aren't the same back two inches of the vane going to go back in the clamp to be glued to the shaft?