Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

whats the most effective system for sighting in?

Old 01-09-2008, 09:20 PM

Default whats the most effective system for sighting in?

My bow came new from the factory and I was told the top pin is 10 yds, middle 20 and bottom 30. The middle is dead on at 10 but the top nad bottom seem to be way off. How would I go about getting the top to 10, middle 20 and bottom 30. Common sense tells me to adjust my top pin so it is in line with the middle and go from there. I am completely new to this so any advise would help. Thanks
Old 01-09-2008, 10:14 PM

Default RE: whats the most effective system for sighting in?

Pretty much as a rule of thumb your 20 yd pin will shoot about 2 inches high at 10 yrds. So go ahead and get it pretty close from there and make sure you have made all your windage adjustments so you are definately center aligned. After you get it in pretty close to the 2 inch rule, go ahead and move back to 20 and take a shot. Dependent on how fast your bow shoots will usually be how close you are to being on at that point at 20. So from there just make minor adjustments until you are getting a good shot group at twenty, probably from the sounds of it around a softball size or so. Now your 30 yd pin should be more or less the same distance lower as your 20 is from your 10. Not always right on but pretty close. So set it up and then repeat just as you did for the 20 but this time your shot group dependent on your level of shooting will probably be just a little bit bigger than your 20 yard pin.

By the way my suggestion is to have a 20, 30, 40 pin set up because like i said you will already be about 2 inches high and that aint bad and easliy eyeballed from that distance.
Old 01-09-2008, 10:31 PM
Typical Buck