Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Bad info from pro shop?

Old 11-13-2007, 07:52 AM
Spike

Default Bad info from pro shop?

Hey guys, I'm new to bows and looking to pickup my first. I have done a TON of online research about everything. I have narrowed my search to the martin cheetah or the bear element/instinct. I went to thebass pro shopin savannah georgia while on vacation to check them out. I like the way the martin felt compared to the element but the guy told me to get the bear because it came with better components.

Next he sized me up for my draw length, he had me put my fist on the wall and pull my other hand back to my face, he measured and said I'm a 27" draw. I thought this method was full of holes I could have bent my arm more or less, pulled my arm back more etc. I'm 6' tall and have a wingspan of 73". I was thinking the 28.5 or 29" range.I just looked at the bows and left.

I'm hoping the next place I check out will be a little more in-depth.

I don't hear much about the martin cheetah's anyone have any insight on it?
Old 11-13-2007, 08:27 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Bad info from pro shop?

I went to thebass pro shopin savannah
I have not and will never concider Bass Pro to be a Pro Archery shop.
The guys they have working there where probably in another section yesterday and will be in another section tomorrow.

Take what your told from these guys with a ton of salt, best bet is to go to a "TRUE" Archery Pro Shop
Old 11-13-2007, 09:40 AM

ORIGINAL: Ausie-guy

Take what your told from these guys with a ton of salt, best bet is to go to a "TRUE" Archery Pro Shop
Exactly... Might I add, don't hem yourself in by limiting your choices to those two bows.
Old 11-13-2007, 10:10 AM
Spike

After going to visibly check out and feel all the bows in my price range these are the two I like. I tried all the major brands.