Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

fletching jig

Old 10-08-2007, 10:22 AM

Default fletching jig

I am new to archery and next season i want to fletch my own arrows and i was wondering if i bought my arrows from a pro shop are they straight or right helical? Because the jig is either straight or right helical and i dont know which one to get and also is there a fletch glue that works good on bohning blazer vanes?
thanks
mike
Old 10-08-2007, 10:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: fletching jig

I do all of my own arrows, carbon, aluminum, and cedar. I use a Bitzenburger jig with right helical and the glue I use for feathers and vanes is Loc-Tite Super Glue gel. I have good results whether I'm making arrows for my compound or my recurve or arrows for my wife or a friend.
Old 10-08-2007, 10:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

I use fletch tite glue for my blazer vanes and have excellent results. I haven't ever had any issues with the vanes comming off or anything. After the vane is on the arrow, I put a little extra dab of glue on the front and back of the vane to insure that the vane doesn't come off.

As txjourneyman, I too use a bitzenburger fletcher. They are a little more expensive, but definetly worth every penny. With this fletcher, you can adjust the amount of helical you want. I put as much as I possibly can while making sure that the vane is still in full contact with the shaft (with blazer you can't get a whole lot of helical, but you can get some). Just make sure you clean and prepare you arrow shaft so you make sure to get a good bond.
Old 10-08-2007, 02:03 PM