Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

vanes vs blades

Old 07-25-2007, 02:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default vanes vs blades

Anyone gave this some tought already ?
I mean does it matter if the blades of your broadheads aren't on the same line as your vanes. Or doesn't that matter at all.
Just something I wanted to try out when I start fletching myself.

Frank
Old 07-25-2007, 03:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: vanes vs blades

When I started shooting back in the early 80's I was told to always make sure they matched up. However, that thought process is pretty much not used anymore.
Old 07-25-2007, 03:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

It doesn't matter one way or another if they line up or not. But, if you're one of those obsessive/compulsive types and everything has to be exactly thus and so, then aligning them is okay. Just don't switch from 3-blade broadheads to 4-blade.
Old 07-26-2007, 01:23 AM
Typical Buck

Since my arrows with the muzzy's fly as well as the ones with fieldtips, I won't bother mathing them up.....I'm not the obsessive type, well, at least not when it comes to my arrows......when they fly straight, they fly straight....don't need those disco arrows with lots of colors and stuff.....

thx

Frank.
Old 07-26-2007, 05:08 AM
Typical Buck

Authur P touched on some thing a lot of people don't relize. The nature of a three blade broadhead isn't to wind plane, four baldes will. The way to counter wind plane in a four blade is to make it look like an X when the arrow is on the string. If you make it look like this + it has wings and will fly your arrow. But the old view of four blades four fletch isn't true. I have been using 3 vane/ 4 blade for years and they shoot like darts. But I am not lining up vanes and braodhead either, just setting up the broadhead so it doesn't plane.
Gselkhunter
Old 07-26-2007, 08:41 AM
Nontypical Buck