Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Who Needs Fletching?

Old 07-20-2007, 08:19 PM

Default Who Needs Fletching?

I was about to get some Axis shafts fletched up tonight and, after cutting the shafts to a length that the chartsshow to be right down the middle in terms of optimum spine and gluing in the inserts;decided to shoot some bare shafts - something I have never tried before.

To my amazement, the unfletched arrows shoot bullet holes and group very well - with field points, of course. (I wouldn't consider this with broadheads). Had no idea that an arrow had the ability to fly this well without vanes.
Old 07-20-2007, 08:20 PM

Default RE: Who Needs Fletching?

try it with BH i want to see what happens.
Old 07-20-2007, 08:28 PM

Do NOT shoot the bare shafts with a broad head. This is very dangerous you don't know where the arrow will end up going.

You really shouldn't paper tune with a bare shaft either, they are two different tuning methods. When bare shaft testing you are not really concerned with what the arrow is doing so much as where it impacts.

It is pretty much the ultimate in paper tuning though, I have tried it a few times. If you are the least bit off it can put a HUGE rip in the paper. It doesn't always mean your arrows will impact correctly at 10 or 20 yards though.

If you think that is impressive I have seen guys shoot bare shafts at 60 yards and group them well! I have done it out to 40 goofing off before, but you have to be REALLY consistent to do it. It is great way to tell if your form changes over time or from group to group.

Paul
Old 07-20-2007, 08:34 PM