Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Backing off a Bow's Draw Weight

Old 04-29-2007, 04:09 PM

Default Backing off a Bow's Draw Weight

I'm wondering here: What would be the difference betweentwo bows, say both are Mathews Switchback XT's; wherebow #1 was a 60/70 lb.backed off to 60 lbs.- and the other identical bow was a 50/60 lb. turned up to 60 lbs. Would the bow that was cranked up to 60 lbs. be faster? And would the bow cranked down to 60 lbs. be smoother? Or could you even tell the difference?
Old 04-29-2007, 07:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Backing off a Bow's Draw Weight

I'm no pro on this. But a few shop owners have told me that if you have a choice between the 2 you are better off shooting a bow at full poundage than a bow set to lightest poundage.

As for speed. I could and may be way off on this. But I would think that the fully loaded 60 lb bow would be a little faster. The limbs are cranked the whole way down on that bow while the other bow the limbs are cranked to a lighter setting. Yes, both are 60 lb draw but I would think it's the way the each bow unloads that is different.

So, maybe it's a matter of which one transfers KE better?
Old 04-30-2007, 03:19 PM

In most cases the 60 lb bow maxed out will be slightly more effecient. Probably differs from manufacturer and cam types though. Would it be enough to notice? I doubt it.

As far as being smoother to draw, I don't know but it would be simple enough to check. Go to a mathews dealer and shoot both bows set up that way. Heck you can check the speed while your at it too. If you do it let us know what happens.