Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

New to archery, picked up a used bow today.

Old 12-01-2006, 07:38 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default New to archery, picked up a used bow today.

Hi, I am new to archery and havent shot a bow in about 20 years. I used to shoot an old recurve 15-20# bow when I was a kid and had a great deal of fun with it and was actually quite good with it out to about 30 yards. I was at the pawn shot today and traded a $50 .22 pistol for a 70-80# High Country Eliminator compound bow. It has an 7 arrow quiver and brass sights on it. I have no idea what the bow is worth but I figured it would be a good start to be able to tell if it is something that I can do. I picked up an old Stemmler 50-60# a few weeks back and am able to pull it back reasonably well, but this 70-80# is pretty tuff. Any tips on getting into better shape to be able to handle this beast better? I am just using my fingers to be able to pull it back. Would one of those glove things help a bit? (I cannot remember the proper name for them). I have had 2 shoulder surgeries and my neck is not well either lol, maybe I picked the wrong sport to get into.... Tips and comments are welcomed.
Old 12-01-2006, 07:45 PM

Default RE: New to archery, picked up a used bow today.

Ummm......where to begin......I wouldn't have bought a bow w/out shooting it first, but that's a story for another day.

First, High Country bows are just horses to pull back anyway, let alone in the 70-80# class......Is it backed all the way down? You should be able to get it down to around 68 or 9 #'s.....

You've had some shoulder surgery, so you may want to rethink higher poundage. 50-60 may be best for you, but I don't know the extent of the injury.

First thing's first...get those brass pins off and find a set of inexpensive fibre optic sights....Cobra makes one that's only around 20 bucks....