Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Have I forgotten something

Old 08-16-2006, 02:47 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Have I forgotten something

Today I started shooting my bow after a long layoff ,oh sure I've done some shooting ,but not a whole lot so I'm sure that the inactivity has a bit to do with this .
I just recently put on a new string and cable's ,but I've run about 100 shot's through it .Today I dialed in my new arrow's at 20,30 and 40yrds ,shooting these distance's I was pretty confident she was set to go .Then came the Broadhead's ,at these same distance's I was shooting 6" to 8" high ,so I adjusted my nock point down a tad and everything seemed to come together .
I took2 arrow's with FP's andthen 2 with BH's and they all seem to be hitting in the same area. I then took the same 4 arrow's with field point's and found them shooting tight group's ,but when I took these arrow's and added theBH'smy group's were not near as good .
Now have I forgotten something ? What do you's think?
What can I do to tighten them up?

nubo

Old 08-16-2006, 02:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Have I forgotten something

Sounds like you should have moved the nock up or the rest down?
Old 08-16-2006, 02:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Paper tune?
Better than that, bareshaft tune...

Can you shoot 4 arrows of FPs and 2 w/ bhs and tell us what the difference in the two groups are?
Cant tell how you need to adjust at this point, btw what type of broadhead you shooting??
Old 08-16-2006, 03:35 PM

Number your arrows to see if the same arrows shoot to the same spot. Other than that maybe your form is a bit off. Fixed blades are not as forgiving on form errors as field tips are, so it is not uncommon for your groups to be a bit larger.

Could be any number of things really though.

Paul
Old 08-16-2006, 03:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

Jsasker !