Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

feather questions..

Old 08-05-2006, 07:32 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default feather questions..

ok guys i just bought my bow and am shooting 4inch feathers. i just like the looks of feathers and i know the pros and cons. everything has its ups and downs. i chose feathers and so far i like them.

my questions..

i heard of you guys waterproofing them. what do i use for that?? will it add weight or effect their flight any?? dont really plan to hunt in rain but you never know. the reason i dont want to hunt in rain this year is because its my first year and i would like a blood trail to follow, though i know some of the best hunting is in the rain. i dont mind it but if i make a shot i owe the animal the respect of finding it and using the animal. if i take one early when its dry and can find it easy and know i can make good shots and know they go down quick i may change that but we will see. i just rather have blood on the ground

also..some of my feathers are a little.....ruffled. individual "strands" of the feathers kinda seperated from others. any cure for that?? does that effect their flight at all if its not terribly beat up or bad??

thanks guys..sorry for all the questions. im trying to learn all i can and keep my head above the water i plunged into this new sport. i plunged in alone and dont have any guidance. dad used to bowhunt. 15+ years ago! alumanums...vanes..fingers....everything he did is diffrent from me...so he really cant help. so thanks alot guys. im sure you all understand what its like.

Old 08-05-2006, 07:44 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: feather questions..