Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

New setup.... New draw length too?

Old 03-02-2006, 07:17 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default New setup.... New draw length too?

I figured I'd post this in here, since it has do with a lot of technical bow issues..... (I already posted it as a reply in my thread on my new bow in the Gear Review section).

You all remember how I used to shoot that old classic 1996 PSE Edge Series 1000C, round wheel dual cam style bow??
http://members.aol.com/ammonc/PSE-1000Ca.jpg

All these years (okay I'm a seasoned rookie with 4 years of bow shooting) I have been shooting the wrong draw length!!! [&:] I was always a 30" draw. That's what I was told, so that's what I went with. Anyway, I brought my new Reflex Highlander to the shop and went over it with the guy. He had me do all sorts of stuff with drawing it, measuring me, changing the poundage, having me draw it again, etc...etc... This guy really checked the bow out and my bow form big time!

The very first time I drew it back, the guy was like, "Whoa whoa whoa... take it back down... You are WAY too long! Are you sure you're a 30" ? So I drew a "test bow" with a long arrow marker on it, and sure enough, I am a solid 29" draw.... not 30". I have been shooting an inch longer bow all this time?!?!

So, anyway, we talked about what I want to do, what I hunt, tree stands, etc... and then discussed arrows and releases and general bowhunting equipment and what is the best for me and the best for the bow. He looked up bow charts and tweaked the poundageto 67# with a 29" draw and told me the old XX75 2315's I used to shoot might work but would have to be cut down, but then again why bother?

Long story short.... Here is the latest image of my brand new, right out of the box, 2006 Reflex Highlander. I got hooked up with the following equipment:

Scott Mongoose release
String loop