Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

BAMM! What happened?

Old 12-26-2005, 08:59 PM
Fork Horn

Default BAMM! What happened?

I was at the range today getting my pins set up for my new arrows and shooting just fine when all of a sudden, I got whacked on the cheekbone like someone slugged me. I thought the bow exploded! It was mystring that broke.

This bow (Rage One) is a couple of years old and probably has 1000 shots on it max. I didn't see any signs of a weak string, just a little fuzz here and there. A couple of questions. I'm pretty new to all of this so please bear with me.

How often should you change your string?
How do you maintain your string?
What do you look for as a sign that your string is about to go?
Are there good/better/best strings?
How do I know what length I need?
Do you also have to replace any cables or other stuff when this happens?
Can I re-do it myself or should I take it in to a shop?
What's it going to cost me to re-string it?
Will they install my peep back in the new string and will I have to sight it in again?

Thanks and by the way, a string breaking will smack you pretty good. Change it out BEFORE it happens.

Old 12-26-2005, 09:09 PM

Default RE: BAMM! What happened?

Every year or so you should change it if you keep waxed and shoot it a lot.

Wax your string often with string wax. This will keep it lubed and prevent wear.

Sometimes like you found out, they will go without warning. A lot of times its under the end servings near the cams where it makes sharp turns.

There are better strings than come on a stock bow. Companies such as winners choice or vapor trail, as well as members of this board build quality strings that offer more performance over your stock string.

It should say the length of your string and cable on a sticker on your limb. If not, a proshop should be able to find out.