Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Is this a good choice?

Old 01-10-2002, 12:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Is this a good choice?

Hi Everyone,
I'm brand new to bowhunting. I intend to practice & scout this coming summer & fall. What I have is a Fred Bear Vapor 300 set @ 55#, 30" draw. Will an SME Epsilon arrow (appr 220 gr) w/ a 100 or 125 gr Satellite Mech broadhead be suitable for whitetails in Oh? I'm guessing the total weight will be 355 to 380 gr. From what I understand, this arrow & head may be too light. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-10-2002, 01:27 PM

Default RE: Is this a good choice?

Welcome to the forum pdq_5oh. Your setup sounds good for whitetail. Although ive never heard of the arrow shaft that you mentioned. Since your shooting at 55 pounds I wouldnt recomend mechanicals. I would get a good fixed blade head. Perhaps a muzzy or thunderhead.
Old 01-10-2002, 03:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks for the reply Ky. I've been on the fence about the type of broadhead, fixed or mech. It appears people prefer the fixed blades @ the lower weight as you recommend. I got the arrows @ the shop w/ the bow. They shoot fine to this point. The weights are real consistent as is straightness. .003" over 28". Thanks again.
Old 01-10-2002, 04:15 PM