Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

I stink!!!!!

Old 09-22-2005, 05:26 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default I stink!!!!!

I am really getting frustrated. I have been shooting for nearly 2 months. I can go out and shoot good one day and terrible the next. Here's how bad it got - 2 days ago shoot 3 nice arrows then shoot six more; I end up missing target and busting an arrow; I get mad and shoot again to make sure it's me and not the bow and shoot a good arrow - the next day, same thing couple good arrows and then a miss and nother broke arrow!!!! I know it is my form, release, etc. I can actually feel myself not staying on the target, flinching, slapping, and I even think my eyes were shutting - just not concetrating. Is this classic target panic? I never had it before. I think I am going to stop shooting for a week or more and when I do shoot I am only going to shoot 2-3 arrows. Right thing to do? Frustrated!!!
Old 09-22-2005, 06:19 AM

Default RE: I stink!!!!!

you are frustrated .your beating your self .try being casual .RELAX
Old 09-22-2005, 06:42 AM

how many pounds are you shooting. if you're having a hard time being still and all that is going on i'd say maybe too many pounds and too long a draw. get some lessons.
Old 09-22-2005, 06:43 AM
Giant Nontypical

If you feel it is your form, get real close to the target (so you can't miss) and shoot a dozen arrows with your eyes close, take time in between shots. Don't worry where the arrows go, just concentrate on form.

Then take a few further back (also take time between arrows to reflect), maybe 10-15 yards and aim.

Do this in every session for a while.
Old 09-22-2005, 06:45 AM
Nontypical Buck