Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow Change?

Old 09-20-2005, 07:22 PM

Default Arrow Change?

I am currently shooting a Browning Ambush set at 63 # with a 29 inch draw length and 29 inch arrows. Also I am shooting Beman ICS Venture 400 arrows. The problem I'm having is with 100 grain 4 blade Muzzy BH's.
I cant get them to group well at all. I'm thinking maybe these arrows may be underspined and am thinking of switching to GT XT 340's. Does this seem like a better arrow for my set up? I'm pretty new at all the arrow stuff so I'm unsure if I'm fixing the problem or making a new one. Any advice would be great! Thx in advance
Old 09-20-2005, 07:24 PM

Default RE: Arrow Change?

The 400's are right on. You will be overspined with a 340. Sounds like a tuning problem. Ensure the bow is tuned properly, and the broadheads have NO wobble at all when you spin test them.
Old 09-20-2005, 07:46 PM

Hmmmm, the Easton and Beman arrow guides both say I should be shooting a 340. I belive my bow is tuned ..my FP are dead on and its shoots bullet holes in paper from 4 feet to 15 yards. now I'm really confused[&:]
Old 09-20-2005, 08:34 PM
Typical Buck

Another muzzy moment.You won't believe...even though there are literally hundreds of people on these sites who swear by them,I hear just as many complaints.90% have the same problem as you.The muzzy just won't group like their field tips..I would try a different broadhead.Mech heads would be a quick fix,and are the easy out.I would rather go with the rocky mountain Ti' 100's.Or Something else around 1 1/8" cutting diameter should fly fine.Alot of people are swearing by montecs also,but I'm not into sharpening my heads.Hope I helped.
Old 09-20-2005, 09:05 PM