Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Stabilizer question

Old 09-11-2005, 03:24 PM
Host of Hosts

Default Stabilizer question

Although I have been shooting a compound on and off for a couple years, I'm still not real in tune with bow technology. I have a PSE Beast that is super quiet when shot. I also have a F5 Tornado by Browning (PSE) that has a pretty good slap sound or crack when the arrow is released. Both bows were set up at a pro shop for my draw length ,ect. My question is this.. Does the stabilizer make a big difference in shock absorbtion? I have the same limb savers and whiskers on both bows the only difference is the Browning has a solid steel ( i think) stabilizer and the Beast has a camo plastic type with something inside of it. Is this my noise difference? If so,what kinds of stabilizer would you recommend? THANKS!
Old 09-11-2005, 05:21 PM

Default RE: Stabilizer question

Try switching them around and see if that is the problem.
Old 09-11-2005, 05:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with Zak, you could try switching the stabilizers and see if there is any noticable difference. Some stabilizers are simply weighted to add forward weight to the bow while others have various materials inside (sand, liquid, etc.) to absorb additional vibration.

Don't forget that they are two different bows entirely. There are some bows (like my old PSE) that are noisy no matter how much silencing equipment is on it.
Old 09-11-2005, 06:35 PM
Nontypical Buck

A stabilizer will not correct this problem.
Old 09-11-2005, 08:30 PM

ORIGINAL: Sniper151

A stabilizer will not correct this problem.
I disagree with this statement. Buckeyebowhntr sent me a stabilizer a year ago. I put it on my PSE and it made a world of difference. It helped to reduce the vibration and noise from my bow.
Old 09-11-2005, 11:26 PM
Nontypical Buck