Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

[Deleted]

Old 09-19-2002, 07:06 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 09-19-2002, 07:32 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 09-19-2002, 09:42 PM

Default RE: What is the best hunting dog for hunting deer?

ive been running deer with dogs for about 31 years. very rarely will you find a dog that will run deer and rabbits. beagles will do both, but they will jump a deer when your hunting rabbits and jump rabbits when your hunting deer. to answer your question on deer dogs i would have to say walker hounds are the best. ive used just about all the hunting breeds and walkers are #1. black and tans are #2. thats the only two i would use. they are good if you mix breed them also. if you mix breed them you get a good nosed trail dog thats fast. the black and tan has the nose and the walker has the speed. good luck finding a pack of dogs. you cant go wrong with this breed of dogs.

dog hunting is about to be out in georgia. i hope that it stays in your state. to many people are against it here. i just sold all 17 of my dogs because we lost our lease this year. its fun but expensive. good luck again, and i would love to go dog running with ya sometime!

tracey moore
Old 09-20-2002, 06:41 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 09-21-2002, 02:10 PM

Beagles all the way,they are small,easy to handle,don't eat so much,don't run out of the country.a deer will not run away from a smaller dog as fast as with bigger dogs.
A deer will just bounce along ahead of a beagle,he will fly low ahead of bigger dogs.

Thus you can take more deer with the slower dogs!!! just my 2 cents,there are 98 more.

I am not a hunter I am a whitetail population reduction specialest

remember keep your back to the sun, your knife sharp, and your powder dry.
Old 09-28-2002, 02:12 PM