Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

Looking For a Local Mentor

Old 03-24-2011, 06:45 AM
Spike

Default Looking For a Local Mentor

Ok... so I'm new to the site and totally new to hunting. I'm a total newb but I really want to get into the hunting sport. Why? For many reasons...

I'd like to become more independent when it comes to resources and I'd like to learn more about nature. I'm not a dooms-day nut job type guy but I'd like to have the confidence in knowing that I could take care of myself and my family if I ever needed to live off of the land. I feel like we (General society) have gotten away from some basic fundamentals over the last 100 years and everything comes from a box or the microwave now. I'd also like to be able to pass the knowledge down to my son who is 12. I got to thinking a few months ago that even if I managed to harvest an animal... I wouldn't have the first clue what to do with it. That's not considering that I don't even know where to look for deer, feral hogs, ducks or turkey. I'd have a general idea but I don't have the first idea about masking sent or when to hunt an animal... Like I said, I'm a total newb.

I guess you could look at it as I'm a clean slate and an eager student. I do own a compound bow and a shotgun that I've used for target practice and sporting clays but I wouldn't claim to be proficient with either one.

I don't really have anything to offer besides my attention and time but I'd be happy to figure out a way to pay back the favor if given the opportunity.

So basically... I don't know anything about the hunting sport and any points in the right direction would be much appreciated. If you're local to the Raleigh, NC area and are willing to spend some time talking over a cup of coffee or demonstrating techniques... I'm all ears.