Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

new guy in va needs help

Old 12-17-2008, 05:34 PM

Default new guy in va needs help

hey yall, i really need some help finding deer. im new to hunting this season and really dontknow any knowledgable people to help me.ive been hunting in the jefferson national forest in montgomery county and have had a hell of a time finding some deer. any tips, locations, or any help at all would be awesome
Old 12-17-2008, 06:29 PM

Default RE: new guy in va needs help

Study the topo maps andhunt close to privatefarm land. Find some funnels and/or ridges leading to and fromsomefood sources on these lands. The deep woodlands may have somebrowsing deer during the day. This time of year most deer are going to key in on aneasy food source andin most cases this is going to be found on farm land. So stay close to the farms because the deer are,you can even ask andtry to gain access to the forestthru someonesfarm. Thiswill give you an advantage and help youget to deer other hunters can't.Your best times are going to be just aftersunrise and just before dark.Good Luck Chris,
Old 12-17-2008, 06:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Bryced, blueheeler gave you some great tips. Another tip is to be patient and work hard. All things being equal, the guy that works the hardest generally gets onto the deer, and that means being in the woods hunting instead of being on the couch. Find thick nasty cover. Find out where the deer are eating by looking for acorns and stretches of ground where the leaves are rooted up and or there is a large amount of fresh deer droppings. Set up with good backcover and wait, and wait, and wait if necessary. If you observe deer moving but they are not close enough to shoot, just reposition the next time you hunt so that you are downwind of them. Move in close enough to get a good shot depending on what type of weapon you are using.