Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

crow hunt...

Old 02-07-2004, 07:30 AM

Default crow hunt...

This morning I woke up early and got set up on the edge of a field and
started with my mouth call. Instantly a few crows were circling over head
and cawing back. Getting no shot oppurtunites, I waited and changed
calls and my decoy set up. After a few minutes of cawing back they came
in and I managed to get one. Another fun morning of crow hunting, now
I'm off to Harrisburg for the sports show.
Old 02-08-2004, 12:51 AM

Default RE: crow hunt...

what is the diff between a crow and a raven? And what is the point of hunting crows? I have no idea and no experience, so these are serious questions. I really have no idea about how to crow hunt. lol

A little help on crows please.
Old 02-09-2004, 06:12 PM

Difference between crow and raven. Crow taste way better. LOL just kidding. I don't really know. You hunt crows because they ruin crops and are pests. All you need is some camo, a call, and a gun. They see really well. Just sit out there and call. When you see the first one circling, don't shoot it. That is the scout crow. If he is shot down, others won't comes. Plus he doesn't taste as good. Too tough. When a flock flies in then blast them. Others use decoys. I don't though. If you do get some crow decoys and an owl decoy. Set them up and do a fighting call. They will come in. Also when you get some throw the bodies on the ground and they will look like decoys. Have fun!!
Old 02-10-2004, 01:24 PM
Giant Nontypical

Just use a .22?
Old 02-11-2004, 06:50 PM

I use shotgun. .22 are great for when they're on tree tops.
Old 02-14-2004, 12:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

A Raven is almost twice the size of a crow and has a different call all it's own. Trouble is you don't see to many Ravens compared to crows!!