Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Roadkill

Old 09-07-2016, 12:38 PM
Spike

Default Roadkill

Hey guys, newb here - so i love pelts and have recently gotten into tanning. So my question is how dangerous would it be to get a fresh fox off the side of the road to skin? From what I've read rabies seems to be fairly common in them so I'm kinda leery of that and would probably stick to fresh roadkill deer/coyote for tanning. I ask cause right now there's a less than 6 hour dead red fox just right up the road. lol Obviously I'm a complete newbie at this so bear with me
Old 09-07-2016, 02:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

It varies location to location if there is Rabies around. The last time I researched it was for South Texas and the info wasn't hard to find on the net.

I'd be more worried about parasites, there are a few in Fox and Yotes that are just plain bad. I use good gloves, face mask and treat them like toxic waste until I can get them into a tub of chemicals. I transport them in garbage bags and toss the bags.

I have a large stainless steel shelf, scrap from a medical supply warehouse, that I set up on two saw horses outside as a work table. And a large, dishwasher safe, plastic cutting board.

I have two steam cleaners one big and one hand carry size to clean up my work area. The hand carry models are handy and can be used for a lot of stuff, got mine at Aldi.

Maybe it is just me but I'm a little parasite phobic. There are some out there that have no cure.

You also have to watch the Ticks, they are vectors for a lot of bad things and bail out up to a day or more after death to look for new hosts.

Other than that, Fox innards can be really aromatic.

Fox *pelts* aren't usually very good until the coldest months of winter.

Last edited by MudderChuck; 09-07-2016 at 02:40 PM.
Old 09-07-2016, 03:48 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by MudderChuck