Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Some Coyote/General Hunting Questions

Old 08-13-2008, 11:48 PM

Default Some Coyote/General Hunting Questions

Hello everyone.

I am new to hunting and am looking to go with a friend(who has not hunted either) this weekend for some coyotes here in Arizona.

Since this is our first trip, we are hoping for the best but know that we very well may come back with nothing. But its all a learning experience anyway

So some questions I have are:
*Animals have keen noses, so do people smoke when waiting for their targets?
*Calibers can be too small to humanely use, but can a round be too big(say you are not going to keep the hide or whatever)?
*Would you recommend I get a digital caller for my first couple times, a reed caller or something else?
*Any tips you want to offer to help me be more successful?

Thanks everyone!
Old 08-14-2008, 07:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Some Coyote/General Hunting Questions

FIrst thing when hunting coyotes is that there is an exception for every rule! With that said, when you set up to call a coyote, try to sit in a spot that allows you to have the best vision of anything that ends up downwind of you. Coyotes will almost always end up downwind of the sound. If a coyote gets to the point that it can smell smoke form your cigarette, than it is obviosuly also downwind of your human scent, the smoke won't keep your scent from being detected. If you're not saving the pelt, then use the caliber that you shoot the best. Actually, sometimes larger cal. guns with heavy big game bullets won't do as much damage as one would think. The heavy bullets just won't expand as rapidly without heavy bone to hit.