Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Squirrels?

Old 01-14-2008, 07:24 PM
Typical Buck

Default Squirrels?

well im not new to hunting but i am new to squirrel hunting. i have a few questions.
1. what kind of day is best for squirrel activity?
2.What time of day is best
3. better to sit or sneak around.
4. .22, .410, or .22 mag. I have all of them

thnx for the help.
Old 01-14-2008, 11:49 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Squirrels?

1. Early on when there are lots of leaves I like for there to be some dew/rain on the trees so when they jump I can hear them since it is so hard to see them. I don't really notice a whole lot of differences in the days where I hunt as long as it's not real warm out. As long as it's cool I notice they seem to be almost always working.

2. For me, the best time is from about 7-9 am. Thats when I like to be out in the woods by. Seems like about 7:30 the woods kind of come to life, and then at about 8:30-9, it starts to wind back down and get slow again.

3. As for how I hunt, I change it up almost every time I go out. If I'm seeing alot I'll usually stay fairly close to one spot and just kind of go from tree to tree in a small area but if there isn't much moving, I start creeping up on them.

4. .22 all the way, never have and don't ever plan on using anything else. I've got mine dialed in perfect- headshots all the way. I use hollow points too.

Here where I hunt, I can sneak in and find a "shagbark" hickory and usually kill my limit out of that.
Old 01-15-2008, 04:19 AM
Dominant Buck