Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Reloading kit

Old 11-23-2003, 10:34 AM

Default Reloading kit

I have been reloading with my father for probably 20 years or so. Usually I go to his house and reload but now I have decided to buy my own and quit mooching (hehe). Anyway, Is there a decent " kit" by RCBS or whoever that is a good start and decent price? I have looked at Cabelas and they have what looks like a decent Rock Chuker kit. Is the kit with the electronic dispenser/scale worth it? Or is the Lyman electronic dispenser/scale better? Or should I stay out of the high tech and stick with the " teeter totter" scale. Confused yet? I think I am hehe. Thanks for the help!
Old 11-23-2003, 06:40 PM
Host of Hosts

Default RE: Reloading kit

If you have been reloading with your dad for 20 years why don' t you get the same equiptment that your already used to? The Rockchucker is a nice press though.
Old 11-23-2003, 07:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Here' s what I' d buy and not much more in a kit: Rockchucker press, powder measure, balance beam scale, funnel, chamfer/deburr tool, loading block, loading manual unless it' s Spears, and a dribbler.

Buy separately case trimmer (Wilson or Forester), Hodgdon hard cover loading manual, spray lube from Lyman or Hornady,RCBS or Redding dies, RCBS shell holder, case length gage....probably a metal (not plastic) dial calipers.

Optional for the time being: digital scale, auto powder dispenser, case tumbler.
Old 11-23-2003, 08:30 PM