Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Best Primers

Old 02-21-2008, 10:12 PM

Default Best Primers

Which company do you all think makes the best primers for small (.223, .243) and large (30-06, .270, 30-30) rifles.

Im new to reloading and would like to bypass al the company propoganda out there. By best I mean most reliable and having the longest shelf life.
Old 02-21-2008, 10:31 PM

Default RE: Best Primers

Depends on the use but CCI is a good reliable primer, use them in all my rifles.I like Federals for all pistols or a rifle with weak firing pin. Federals are a little softer. Example: Taurus pistols work best with federal because they have aweakfiring pin strike.
Old 02-22-2008, 04:12 AM
Fork Horn

I've had real good luck with CCI.
Old 02-22-2008, 05:34 AM
Fork Horn

I've had good luck with Federal, CCI, and Winchester. I wouldn't hesitate to buy any of them. I normally work up a new load with one primer and then try one or two of the others to see which works best. I would suggest that whatever you use to work up your final load, stick with them. Buy a bunch!
Old 02-22-2008, 07:28 AM
bigcountry

I have been partial to federal since starting reloading. But I have used remington, CCI, and winchesters. I have seenfriends on here get sub 0.5MOA accuracy out of his 300RUM with WLRM primers and then try my beloved 215M and accuracy went down, and vise versa.

Its just another one of those components we have a option to try different ones

Old 02-22-2008, 08:39 AM

I've used them all and quite frankly never known .02$ worth of difference in any of them. But I'm a hunter and not a benchrest shooter. Most of the BR crowd used to go with Remington primers. I have no idea who is their favorite today.
Old 02-22-2008, 08:48 AM
Fork Horn

I use CCI as well. I did get a good deal on some Federal large rifle primers as well. Havent tried them as of yet.