Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

To tumble or not to tumble...

Old 11-09-2006, 07:44 PM

Default To tumble or not to tumble...

I am new to reloading and reading the'Modern Reloading' book and found something interesting. The book stated that tumblers can create lead 'dust' or deposits from cleaning out the cases.Also media left behind in the case can cause increased pressure and problems. It stated that it is better to polish them with steel wool etc. What do you all do? How would you clean the inside of the case them?

Second, does anyone reload 7mm Rem. Mags and want to pass on a good load to start with? Powder, bullet brand and/or primers? I am hunting deer here in VA and would probably go no more than a 140g bullet.My shots would probably be between 100-200 yds out.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Sean
Old 11-09-2006, 08:01 PM

Default RE: To tumble or not to tumble...

I always clean my brass before loading. Cleancases are easier to inspect for problems.As for media in the brass, you obviously need to get it out and make sure the flash hole is clear.
Old 11-09-2006, 08:04 PM
Typical Buck

I tumble all my brass. Just make sure you smack the backside to get any media out.It really isn't needed to get them sparkling clean. Just make sure thereisn't any grit that could scratch the chamber.

60 gr of IMR4831 with a 140 gr works for me.
Old 11-09-2006, 08:58 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 11-09-2006, 11:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Here's a little known (among hunters), inexpensive secret.

Krazy Kloth

http://www.sinclairintl.com/cgi-bin/category.cgi?category=search&item=KK&type= store

or 1/2 the price available at
http://www.the5and10.com/more-products.cfm?CategoryID=29