Community
Official IBO.Net Forum - 3-D Shooting 3-D target shooting, tips, techniques and politics.

HC Vs MBR. Your input please.

Old 04-08-2003, 09:21 PM

Default HC Vs MBR. Your input please.

I am new to this whole 3D thing.

Right now I shoot a Mathews Ultra Light with fixed crosshairs a peep site and a release.

That is MBR class correct? Or should I drop the stabilizer (at 11 3/4 now anyways) and go in HC Class and gain 10 yds on the max.

The only difference I can see at the moment is that I have 6 arrows at 3" vains and 6 at 4" . I would have to fletch the 6 with 3" to the 4" . And even that is no big deal.

Goyle
Old 04-09-2003, 10:00 AM

Default RE: HC Vs MBR. Your input please.

goyle, the mbr class is fixed pins, release aid, any length vanes, any length stabilizer. there is a 45 yard max distance from the shooting stakes.

the hc is 4in vanes, 12 in or shorter stabilizer, 35 yard max distance from the shooting stake, and i think the release aid is optional in this class, but a definate advantage. there is also a screw in point requirement.

if i were you and i were new to this sport, as far as shooting in the ibo, i would shoot the hunter class until i got a little more familiar with the format, distances, and equipment. this is an equipment class, but, a very good class to start off in until shooting skills are honed a little and confidence increases. the mbr would be a good step from there, and if you so desire, then open or semipro classes. the hc is a tough class to win, there are a lot of very good shooters there, but spend the time there and you will benefit greatly in the end.
Old 04-09-2003, 10:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

sounds like you are setup for both, only difference would be the vanes, assuming you have screw in points which are required for HC.