Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Linvingston County New York

Old 02-16-2005, 09:33 AM

Default Linvingston County New York

Anyone have some first hand info on Livingston county deer hunting in western NY. Around Geneseo ? I have the opportunity to hunt some private land up there and was wondering what the deer population is like.
Old 02-16-2005, 11:24 AM

Default RE: Linvingston County New York

I don't hunt Livingston County mysef but I been through there many times. I live about an hour from Geneseo and here in upstate NY the deer hunting usually is pretty decent. Most of upstate NY had a down year this past year but there are plenty of deer to be had in that county.
Old 02-16-2005, 12:28 PM

Heck yeah I have some experience in western NY! I live in Geneseo, hunt in Groveland and Conesus. The deer population is pretty good, but it was a tough year this last season. If you have some wooded land that you can set a stand in overlooking fields, you should see some deer. I shot 4 deer (one buck three does) last year, and one doe this year. That doesn't count the deer I hunted with my truck 2 weeks before the season started! [:@] I saw quite a few, but was waiting for a big buck to come along. None did so I took a doe the last day I hunted. If you get a doe tag (this year 8M gave 1 doe tag, and a 50% chance for the second tag.) you should be able to get a doe pretty easily. I am guessing that next season they will drop the doe tags to one in 8M. There are a couple of big bucks around where I live (10 point or better) that I have seen since the season ended so they are out there. Do you know exactly where you will be hunting?
Old 02-16-2005, 12:54 PM
Typical Buck

I live in Livingston County, and have hunted in Geneseo too.

You'll find out Livingston county is one of the best hunting counties in NY bar none.

I shot my first deer in the Geneseo vicinity.