Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Alternatives to controlling deer pops

Old 01-13-2005, 07:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Alternatives to controlling deer pops

In my other thread related to this topic I didn't explain myself very well so hopefully this time it will be better.Before I ask the question here's alittle background on my past hunting experience.
I've been hunting white tails in PA for 30 years in various counties on state forest lands.So I have some knowledge on the deer populations and habitat in these areas.
As I posted before the average hunter is seeing 1-2 deer a day on these lands after a full day's hunt.There aren't too many people who would be satified with this hunting.I estimate the average DPSM on these lands at 8.
The numbers of hunters on these lands is dropping drastically within the last two years.I don't see how there will be enough hunters to reduce the herd at the levels the DCNR/PGC wants them.
So here's my question,what alternatives do you think the officials will use to keep the herd down if there's not enough hunters to do it?
I think contraception is heading our way.
Old 01-13-2005, 08:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Alternatives to controlling deer pops

I estimate the average DPSM on these lands at 8.
If this is even really close to the deer density - Then its likely that 1/2 the current hunters in the area could keep the deer herd in check (given PA's current average hunter density of 22 hunters per square mile).

Its tough to look at averages - but I can 99.99% assure you that the State of PA - could not afford - and does not need to consider Deer Contraceptives - to manage the deer herd. That's just crazy - crazy talk!
Old 01-13-2005, 08:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

At this time it's expensive but as research goes on it will be cheaper.
They are already dishing out snipers for $20,000 a pop on small private parcells in Pitts and philly.