Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Day in the Pa woods

Old 10-06-2009, 03:50 PM
Fork Horn

Default Day in the Pa woods

Today I worked a flex shift 7-3 PM. Hurried home after my shift, (I work in Law Enforcement) washed and headed to my hunting spot. It took me a good 15-20 minutes to get there. I climbed up the tree to my Gorilla hang-on and noticed the platform shifted and the thing was really unstable. so, there I am in the tree trying to loosen and adjust my stand and making lots of noise. after 10 minutes of adjusting I finally got the platform stable and climbed onto it and a branch was right on top of me. After sitting until about 6:00 I decided there was no way I could draw and shoot, so I decided to leave. I took a slow walk and didn't see anything. I was really upset with myself because I should have prepped better. But it was then that I realized that any day in the woods is a great day.

One question. Ihunt on a high traffic public hunting area. I love to use hang ons but I don't want to leave the climbing steps in the area. I have often used pine trees and just climbed the branches to my hang on. Does anybody have any suggestions. I have both telescoping steps and the lone wolf ones. should I just backpack the lone wolf ones in? If so, whats the best way to climb the tree and hang them as I go?

Any suggestions, greatly appreciated.

KC

Last edited by PAHUNTER105; 10-06-2009 at 03:52 PM.
Old 10-06-2009, 05:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

in the past i have used screw ins and as i climbed down at night i spun the oput and stuck toothpicks in the holes so i could find them easily in the dark and taking the steps kept my stand fairly safe.
Old 10-06-2009, 11:55 PM
Typical Buck