Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

This "Audit"

Old 02-01-2009, 08:02 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default This "Audit"

As a businessman I understand an audit ,as to do with taxes,money and where it all goes.
My question is how do you audit deer?
What wisdom is this audit supposed to lime light for us?
Whatquestions are we asking?

I will admit I'm lost at this whole audit reasoning or process. Will some one please enlighten me?[:-]
Old 02-01-2009, 08:22 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: This "Audit"

And I thought you guys knew every thing.
Old 02-01-2009, 08:26 AM
Giant Nontypical

I'm not an expert on what all it was to include but I think it's supposed to focus at least in part on the game management methodology including but not necessarily limited to deer population estimates, deer density strategies etc etc . I know that the few things I've read indicate that it WILL include an independent examination of the deer management program. Not really sure about what all else but I'd think that they'd audit all operations and not just deer stuff.
Old 02-01-2009, 08:35 AM
Nontypical Buck

Some of the key elements of the audit prove that our legislators are listening even if our PGC Commissioners are not. A twelve-year look-back at our deer populations and deer harvests are incorporated. This is critical because our deer population took a mysterious leap to 1.6 million when Dr. Gary Alt became involved. If done objectively many will be in shock at how few deer are left in this state. Converting the PGC’s “qualitative” deer management into hard, believable, quantitative numbers is a major objective of this audit. We must manage by numbers, just as every state in the nation manages their deer herd.