Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

QDMA Question

Old 10-22-2006, 04:38 PM
Typical Buck

Default QDMA Question

I'm fairly new to hunting and have a question about QDMA. My neighbor has over 200 acres and is doing QDMA on his property. I have a measly 15 acres and was wondering if it would be a good idea to do QDMA. Does anyone on the forum do QDMA? Is my land too small to do it on? My property consists of thick scrub brush, not many large trees and a couple fields. What exactly would I do on my property to fit the QDMA process? Any help would be appreciated.
Old 10-22-2006, 05:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: QDMA Question

what is QMDA lol?
Old 10-22-2006, 06:24 PM
Typical Buck

QDMA = Quality Deer Management
Old 10-22-2006, 06:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Without getting into the technicalities of QDM, I would say no on the 15 ac. (I even think 200 ac. might be too small). You can certainly practice QDM if you like no matter how big the acreage, but you probably will not see the benefits of that on your piece of ground (unless all of the surrounding landowners do the same). case in point - You let a decent 6 point go; the minute it gets on a neighbors - BANG; it's down and isn't able to get too maturity. This is compounded even more if you are near/bordering State lands.
Old 10-22-2006, 07:35 PM
Fork Horn

I recommend that you not only join forces with your nieghbor who is already doing it, but start speaking to surroundign neighbors also. You may be able to combine forces to create a piece of land large enough to have an impact.
Old 10-23-2006, 04:48 AM

I would do it if I were you. I would plant some apple trees and make some food plots. Anything that you do will help in some way.
Old 10-23-2006, 07:31 AM
Typical Buck