Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Tree stand height

Old 09-16-2005, 09:24 PM
Spike

Default Tree stand height

Hi Everyone, I am new to this board but not new to hunting. I have been hunting Illinois corn fed deer for 30+ years , never missing a season. I was just wondering what different hunters opinions are on tree stand height. I use everything from ground blinds to windfalls to raised platforms. My question is limited to flat ground with mature hardwoods (River bottoms). In these conditionsI usually sit about 10 - 12 feet above the ground but have been told I should sit higher when shotgun hunting. The stand may also be used for an occasional bow hunt. Anyone with any thoughts or experiences with stand placement in these conditionsI would appreciate your comments and opinions.

Thanks,
Troy
Old 09-16-2005, 09:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Tree stand height

Well pyro, you've asked a valid question. One which has been asked on this forum more than once. And usually answered with go higher, go higher. I beleive that lots of height can really help when trying to whack extremely weary deer, not just for getting scent up, but out of sight advantage.

You sound quite a bit like me in the years you've hunted, where you've hunted and from blinds, stands 0f 10-12, windfalls, etc.

Now YOU answer the real question(s).

* In your 30 years, do you feel that in any way you have missed out on something?

* In your 30 years, do you feel you've been "busted" more than you feel you should
have?

* In your 30 years, has the freezer been left wanting?

* Have you read too many magazines? (You know the ones helping to sell every new thing? Mine's better than his? How to bag your buck! How to meet a buck! Win a date with a buck! Marry a buck!) JJ here, but I think too many people put way too much into what magazines have printed.

If it gets the job done - don't mess with it.