Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

garmin topo cd

Old 12-27-2004, 08:49 PM
Spike

Default garmin topo cd

hello all , hope everyone had a good xmas. I have been using a garmin etrex vista for several years. I go to colo. elk hunting. I was wanting some input on the topo cd.How much data does it show on your gps? I would be glad to hear from anyone that has used it. thanks
Old 12-27-2004, 09:56 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: garmin topo cd

One Word............Fantastic. I have the Vista myself and the Mapsource Topo is an exellent deal. It gives great detail and is easy to upload your tracks for the day on the computer. The detail is just as good as a map showing elevations and contour. It's also great to check out area's on your computer through topo and make notes then transfer them to your unit. Look on eBay for a much better price than retail.
Old 12-28-2004, 03:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

Garmin Topo is a great buy! A great product for a great unit.
Old 12-28-2004, 07:17 PM
Spike

Thanks for the replies. Can u pan out with it and see the elevations and contour for say a half mile. Thanks again.
Old 12-29-2004, 09:26 AM
Typical Buck

ORIGINAL: elkkrazy

Can u pan out with it and see the elevations and contour for say a half mile. Thanks again.
You can pan in and out. The more you pan out the less detail it shows.
What I would do is if you know the area in CO that your giong to hunt I would get familiar with they area on my computer in Topo. The only downside to the GPS unit is that you are looking at a small screen as when you pan out the screen can't fit all the info in for a huge area. I would also suggest if you are that unfamiliar with the area then have a topo map and compass and use them together. It would be a good safety feature if you broke your unit. Map and compass are under $10 and good insurance.
Old 12-29-2004, 02:18 PM
Spike