Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Types of Camp Houses

Old 06-07-2004, 03:22 PM
Spike

Default Types of Camp Houses

I am curious wht type of camp house, trailer, camper, tent, base camp, etc that everyone has at their hunting camp---I am new to hunting and will be joining a club this year. I need a place to stay while down there----There is a place for bathroom/shower adn a community kitchen, so that is not a concern---

Basically, all I need is a place to sleep and change clothes and rest between hunts---

Can you please recommend or suggest what has worked for you in teh past or if you could redo your situation over again, things you would do again---

Thanks!!!
Old 06-07-2004, 07:30 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Types of Camp Houses

After sleeping in tents for ages, about 5 years ago we picked up a 60's model 18ft. Mobile Scout trailer. To some this may be "roughing it," but to us it's the Taj Ma Hal!
If somethinglike this is what you are after, start looking now! You should be able to find something in the 500-1500 dollar range, if all you want is a deer camp trailer. The closer you get to deer season, the more $$$ you will likely have to pay, so start shopping! Good luck!
Old 06-07-2004, 09:49 PM
Giant Nontypical

I got a dome tent and some air mattresses and I feel like I am in a 5 star motel compared to the way we used to camp out back home, just a sleeping bag under the stars on bare ground.
Old 06-07-2004, 10:32 PM
Giant Nontypical

For your situation and minimal investment I would suggest a tent with a good quality sleeping bag, lantern, cooler, folding camp chairs, air mattress or cot and minimal cooking tools. You may want a propane heater if cool in the evening/am or drying gear, sounds like everything else is already available. The other option would be a small pull behind trailer or truck camper.