Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Rust help !!!!!!!!!

Old 11-08-2004, 03:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Rust help !!!!!!!!!

I have a 7600 Remington Game Master my fater bought me 20 years ago.The other day I went to go on a hunting trip and I was going to bring as a back up rifle,I opened the gun case and just about bald the gun was covered in rust.It was only in the case for about a week and a half.

It is the worst case I have ever seen,the blueing is coming off,is there anything I can do?Can a gun smith help or fix?
Old 11-08-2004, 03:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Rust help !!!!!!!!!

Sounds like time for a re-blue. I doubt if there is anything short of a buff and blue that will make you happy.
Old 11-08-2004, 07:14 PM
Giant Nontypical

I would try wiping it with some gun oil and a rag to remove as much rust as possible. Any areas the rust remains take some fine steel wool and gun oil, in a circular motion to prevent pitting. I have also heard Alum Foil in a ball works well, so might want to give that a try. Then wipe down again and fiish with a light coat of oil. The rifle could be used this way, just make sure to wipe it down and re-apply oil often (especially in wet conditions).

The best thing to bring back the rifle is a re-blue by a gunsmith. Suprisingly they aren't real harsh on the pocket book but you may have to wait as they tend to them in batches and in the off season.
Old 11-09-2004, 06:58 AM

dont store guns in their cases. Learned the hard way when I had the same thing happen. The moisture in the cases will rust the gun. You can get one of those little packets to put in the case if need be. I came into 5 shotguns recently and keep them all in a closet that I made into a gun safe.
Old 11-09-2004, 07:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Use 000 or 0000 steel wool with some light gun oil. I've had good luck with this method on some old guns with light to medium surface rust.