Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Im New to hunting

Old 07-27-2004, 06:42 PM

Default Im New to hunting

Im a youth hunter of 13. Im wonder what is a good all around gun. My dad and I are interested in deer hunting, And turkey hunting. Does anyone know of any good guns for hunting deer and birds? Price range $150-$250 for shotguns.
Old 07-27-2004, 06:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Im New to hunting

If you want to hunt both deer and turkeys with the same gun, then you're only option will likely be a shotgun (unless you're living in one of the few states that allows turkey hunting with a rifle). If you've got to stay in the $150-250 price range, your options for a one gun for both purposes will be limited. I normally would suggest a NEF 20 gauge single shot as a possible first gun, but their shotguns are all fixed choke models if memory serves, which means that buying the gun for one animal would make it unsuitable for the other.

Your best bet would be one of the less expensive youth pump-action 20 gauges for you, and a 12 gauge for your dad. My personal recommendation would be the Remington 870 Express as being the best bang for your buck. Buy one with a 24" barrel threaded for the Rem-Choke choke tube system. Then buy both an extra-full turkey choke and either an Imp. Cyl. or rifled choke tube for deer slugs. This setup will provide you with a gun suitable for both animals provided you choose the right shells, and with the standard chokes and shells it also opens up the possibility of upland bird and small game hunting as well.