Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Slugging for Bear... 20ga

Old 05-14-2004, 08:49 AM

Default Slugging for Bear... 20ga

New member chimming in with an inquiry. I've done a search, and found lots of information about slug guns in general, but not much info. on actual application on big game.

I plan on hunting Black Bear over bait later this year in Canada. Was initially thinking on using my Tikka T3 Lite in .308, but have this desire to try out a slug gun....

I'm thinking about purchasing a Remington Model 870 SPS 20-Gauge Slug Gun. Figure this should be enough medicine for the blackies....but then, since I have no experience in the matter, figure it would be best to inquire.

Anyone take black bear with a 20ga slug gun?

Appreciate your assistance.

P.S. Very fine site. Lots of information to sift through. Looks like I'll be busy poking around the archieves for awhile
Old 05-14-2004, 12:02 PM

Default RE: Slugging for Bear... 20ga

do your self a favor and get the 12ga .......
Old 05-14-2004, 12:35 PM
Typical Buck

I second that thought.. get a 12 gauge. Much greater range of shells to use. 2 3/4, up to 3.5 in magnum or non mag...
Old 05-14-2004, 01:03 PM
Giant Nontypical

It is true that there's a much wider variety of ammo available for a 12 Ga.... If you insist on using a slug instead of a rifle bullet (would not be my choice!!), and want to use a 20, it''ll do fine if you use a slug OTHER than the Foster type, which is essentially a thin lead shuttlecock. Use as heavy a 20-ga. slug as you can find, shoot it out of a rifled bore, and choose a dense projectile like the Winchestyer Partition Gold, or one that is just as tough! In a 20 Ga. slug you have a bullet that already has a large diameter, so pentration is a lot more important than expansion!
Old 05-14-2004, 01:38 PM

Thanks for the input. I originally considered a 12ga, but decided against it as they're too heavy.