Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Help me pick a shotgun please!

Old 11-11-2003, 07:10 PM

Default Help me pick a shotgun please!

hey all this my first post here so i was wondering if ya' ll could help me out.

im 18 and i have been using a nameless single shot 12g 2 3/4" for the last 3 years for everything from squirrel to geese to deer with really good success but i could use an extra shot or 2 for waterfowl and rabbits shotgun.
since i will be hunting geese and turkey every year and probly deer with buckshot i am looking for a 3 1/2" and only a 3 1/2" . i want a pump as autoloaders are outta my price range which is below $700 canadian (gun only, accessories ill pay more) i am trying to find a good 3 1/2" combo with a fully rifled barrel (shotgun for deer every year) . have been looking at the remington 870 express supermag combo but i have discovered that u cant get it in synthetic (ill be rough on it so i dotn want wood) so if i have to ill just get the wood. i havent been able to find any other pump 3 1/2" fully rifled combos anywhere. i would really like a winchester 1300 black shadow combo but it only comes in 3" .

please let me know how the 870 express supermag' s rifled barrel shoots at 100-125 yards as well as any other shotguns that would be good for me.

also please let me know the ups and downs of the remmy 870 supermag combo as well as any other guns that u all reccomend.

thanx
Old 11-11-2003, 09:07 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Help me pick a shotgun please!

I dont think Remington has a 3 1/2 fully rifled barrel they have a smooth bore 3 1/2.
Old 11-11-2003, 10:04 PM

Maybe buy a synthetic 3 1/2 and a synthetic 3' ' . I know the express' s and black shadows are pretty reasonable. guys that I know don' t like lugging the 3 1/2' s around deer and small game hunting. They use them more for turkey and goose or duck blinds. You could get 2 guns for under the price of an autoloader.