Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Left handed Whitetail rifle

Old 01-13-2014, 04:49 PM
Spike

Default Left handed Whitetail rifle

I'm a college student looking at buying a lefty rifle. I am currently using my dad's 270 Winchester but it is a right handed rifle and it's pretty bad how I shoot it. I shoot right handed with it but look out of the scope with my left eye.

So I want a left handed rifle to be mine. I'd like it to last a long time.

Bolt action would be preferred as it is the most common I think. I love the 270 but am open to all suggestions.

Savage seems the most popular so I've been looking at them, seem most lefty friendly.

I've been looking at Savage arms trophy hunter 11/111. Would that be a good package? Diffrences between 111 and 110 savage trophy hunter rifle.

What are some advantages for .270,30/06 and the .300 caliber?

Also It may never happen but I've always had a dream of moose hunting. Could this kill a moose. What about a black bear?

Any help is appreciated I want to spend my money wisely but love hunting and trying to learn.

Last edited by kampmanfan4life; 01-13-2014 at 04:57 PM.
Old 01-13-2014, 05:18 PM
Typical Buck

Red face

Remington 700 sps left hand.
http://remington.com/products/firear...thetic-lh.aspx
Old 01-13-2014, 05:22 PM
Typical Buck

I would look into the 300 win if you are looking for all-around cartiage. The 270 is a good.round. but with the 300 you can go from deer to moose with ease and not feel under gunned.
Old 01-13-2014, 05:53 PM
Typical Buck

http://ruger.com/products/HawkeyeSta...ded/models.htm
The ruger is a good rifle too. It's a little more money and has a walnut stoke. It comes in a lot more calibers then the remington. I don't like savages have a lot of remington and rugers.
Old 01-13-2014, 07:33 PM
Giant Nontypical

.270 win is an excellent choice, particularly for the average NA big game hunter.