Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Browning BLR

Old 02-02-2013, 08:39 AM
Typical Buck

Default Browning BLR

I have a good friend that gave me his BLR to reload some ammo for. It is a 7mm-08 and about 20 years old. I gave it a good cleaning and took some measurements to determine the max COL. While handling it, I came across something that seems odd. Is it normal to be able to very slightly open the lever and still be able to pull the trigger dropping the hammer? Any info would be appreciated as I have zero experience with lever guns.
Old 02-02-2013, 09:38 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by Ridge Runner
it shouldn't fire unless the ifle is still ockedin battery, it should have a hammer bolck to prevent that. p a izd case and ee if it will fire a primer in that state.
RR
Interpreter please? LOL Good thing I speak typoneese!
Old 02-02-2013, 09:49 AM
Typical Buck

puter is gettin stupid!
it shouldn't fire unless the rifle is still locked and fully in battery, it should have a hammer block to prevent that. place a sized primed case in the chamber and see if it will fire a primer in that state.
RR
HAHAHA...mine does that at times too
Old 02-02-2013, 02:02 PM
Typical Buck

When the lever is moved slightly downward, the bolt travels backward about 1/16" before trigger is disengaged. Is this normal for a BLR? And Ridge, yes the hammer will fall, hit the pin and pop the primer in this state.
Old 02-02-2013, 03:00 PM
Typical Buck

you might want to have your friend take it to a gunsmith and have it checked out just to be safe. if someone would fire a live round without the locking lugs engaged the pressure pushing the bolt backwards could cause the lever downward and could break some fingers or worse.
Old 02-02-2013, 03:05 PM
Boone & Crockett

puter is gettin stupid!