Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

357 mag w/ 170 Gold dots for deer?

Old 09-18-2003, 08:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default 357 mag w/ 170 Gold dots for deer?

I plan on carrying my 357 mag this year for close shots at deer, 35 yds and under. I bought some of these 170 gr. Gold dot soft points and they shoot really well from my gun. I' m thinking this would be an excellent load for deer, what do you guys think?

Old 09-18-2003, 08:51 AM

Default RE: 357 mag w/ 170 Gold dots for deer?

I have no experience with that particular bullet on deer! But based on the information I' ve read on the bullet, (and my own past experience with 158 grain soft points on close range whitetails), I would strongly suspect that they would work well if employed well. Because of the limited energy of the .357 Magnum I have purposely only taken shots when it was possible to place the bullet through the ribcage broadside. Under these circumstances the .357 proved adequate to make clean kills. I shunned taking quartering shots through the front shoulders to eliminate the possibility of not obtaining sufficient penetration. I would imagine that some of the newer 180 grains, (and maybe as well the 170 Gold Dot), might provide adequate penetration to take a quartering shot.

Anytime I have been in doubt....I' d elect to ere on the side of caution. There really is no excuse for not making every effort to insure a " clean kill" .

Hopefully some one has experience with that bullet and can provide more precise information!
Old 09-18-2003, 12:13 PM
Fork Horn

i shoot 180grain winchester partition golds, they work great. i would say your bullets would work fine as long as they expand well. that is why i shoot the partition golds, very deep hollow point. i used some 180 grain reloads once, and they barely expanded at all.....ON A HEAD SHOT!!!
no more reloads for deer outa me
Old 09-18-2003, 07:36 PM
Nontypical Buck