Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Worth the effort to "sporterize" WW2 era rifle?

Old 09-10-2010, 02:11 PM
Spike

Default Worth the effort to "sporterize" WW2 era rifle?

I'm pretty new to hunting in general--the biggest critter I've bagged is a squirrel with a .20 caliber pellet gun, and I didn't think garbage-fed suburban squirrel would taste very good. The animals I'd like to focus on are deer and feral hogs, both of which are causing significant environmental damage in my area. (East Texas) I'd like to get some opinions here on the most appropriate firearm for the task.

A few years back, I inherited a few .22 rifles my brother and I shot as kids, along with a Remington M1903/A3 and a Lee-Enfield No.1 Mk3. Both of them are in decent shape, and were fired about 20 years back without exploding. They also weigh a ton. I know that it's possible to reduce the weight factor by replacing the original stock with a lighter synthetic, and scope mounts are available that don't require drilling or tapping.

This brings me to my actual question. Is it worth the time and effort to "sporterize" one of these dinosaurs, or should I just sell them and get something newer? They've survived this long, so they must be pretty durable. Durability is very important. I'm clumsy.
Old 09-10-2010, 02:49 PM
Typical Buck

I have a friend that loves the old military rifles, foreign and domestic but I never saw one shoot worth a nickel. Now I am no expert so maybe there are good shooting versions out there, but I am guessing they are old and used up. Personally I would stick to a modern rifle if possible.
Old 09-10-2010, 02:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by ACK2069