Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

small game gun of choice

Old 06-23-2008, 03:02 PM

Default small game gun of choice

I'm new to hunting, but been with my cousin for some small game here and there.

I want to get into it, so I was asking which one everyone prefered to use while small gaming.
I've been looking on different online stores but dont know what the numbers and abrev.'s mean.

Thanks.
Old 06-23-2008, 03:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: small game gun of choice

For small game like rabbits, squirrels, etc. I like a Ruger 10/22 its a 22lr and onw of the toughest guns you can get. Most of the abbriveations mean the caliber whickis the width of the bullet. For instance a .22lr is 22 thousandths of an inch in diameter and the lr stands for long rifle which was used to tell the difference between 22long whick was a little shorter and the 22 short which is about half the size of the 22lr.
Old 06-23-2008, 03:22 PM

ah alright thanks
Old 06-23-2008, 04:06 PM

How are the kicks on any .22?
Old 06-23-2008, 04:33 PM
Typical Buck

The .22LR is a rimfire and has no recoil (kicks).

The .22 centerfires (such as .223, .222, .22-250) are centerfire and their recoil is very mild.

Being new, I would highly recommend talking with a firearm dealer before making a decision on a caliber / rifle.
Old 06-23-2008, 05:07 PM

Any straight shooting 22LR (LR stands for Long Rifle)in good condition, even a used one, will serve you well.
Since you are new to hunting, I would visit a few local gun shops looking for a good used 22 LR that you can afford. Ask questions of the shop owner, most are very upstanding knowledgable people and will give you good sound advise.

I would avoid all 22 centerfires at this point in your learning curve, they are over kill on squirrels and rabbits.

22 LR Ammo is cheap, so you can shoot a lot. Have fun
Old 06-23-2008, 05:14 PM