Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

knockdown power

Old 01-04-2008, 09:06 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default knockdown power

I was reading the 243 thread and some guys mention not believing in knockdown power. WTF????I started shooting a .243 when i was 12 but quickly jumped to a .308 just for the knockdown power. On occasion i have went with my younger brother and dad who use .300 win mag and 300 WSM calibers and i was thoroughly impressed with the knockdown power of those calibers also.

Why dont some of you guys believe in knockdown power?
Old 01-04-2008, 09:28 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: knockdown power

On lung shot deer, I see no difference in how far a deer runs no matter if it is shot with a bow, .54 round ball, 12 gauge slug, .243, .260, .270, .280, 30-06, 7mm-08, .308, .270 WSM or .300 Mag...Lung shot deer just seem to run 40-80 yards and expire...You will see more difference in type bullet used and the wound channel than on different calibers...

If you want to drop a deer in it's tracks, take a high shoulder shot (bullet through both shoulder blades) or a neck shot...

One thing to consider, when you hit a deer with a heavily constructed bullet and a cartridge such as a .300 Mag, the bullet exits...In this situation you don't know how much energy you are transferring into the deer as you are dumping energy into the ground on the other side of the deer...So if you have 3.000 ft pounds of energy hit the deer, you may only be dumping 800 pounds into that deer....
Old 01-04-2008, 10:40 AM

Because in essence "knock down" power does not exist. No rifle or handgun can transfer enough energy to actually "knock" a deer or person off from their feet. And no gun actually delivers or transfers the amounts of energy one believes it does. Numbers and math are cool, but just not realistic in most situations. I have seen it demonstrated various times on different objects and game.