Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

buckshot and chokes, what to do or not to do

Old 02-22-2007, 03:46 PM
Fork Horn

Default buckshot and chokes, what to do or not to do

I have a Remington 870 that I have been shooting OO & OOO buckshot with a 28" barrel with a extra full choke tube. I tried all chokes and this one did the best pattern. I have been shooting it for many years and have killed many deer with this set up.
The Question is :
I just purchased a Mossberg 935 with a 28" barrel. I also purchased choke tubes. Is it a wise thing to shoot buckshot out of a Extra full or the Ultra full ( turkey ) chokes? I know that the 935 is a overbore gun, and don't want to ruin anything by doing this.
Old 02-22-2007, 05:08 PM

Default RE: buckshot and chokes, what to do or not to do

my remington super full choke tube explicitly says do not use buckshot or steel shot. it should tell on there what size is recommended.
Old 02-22-2007, 05:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Most turkey chokes I use or have run accross explicetly say not to use buckshot in them. I honestly don't know if it will hurt the gun/choke/pattern/you or not, but it must have at some point in order for them to put such a warning on the tube.