Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

shooting from a bench

Old 02-13-2007, 04:06 PM

Default shooting from a bench

are you supposed to still hold the forearm of the gun when you're shooting off a prop? (in my case it's a couple of rolled up jackets) or do you just let it sit on there? I've been holding the rifle in my hand and laying my hand on the brace and trying not to grip too tightly on the stock but sometimes it feels like it's going to leap right out of my hand and that makes me a little nervous.

i've only been going to ranges since the weekend before christmas, as far as i can remember through my years every other time i have shot it was either actually holding the gun in my hands or propped on a tree. i'm kind of new to his hehe.
Old 02-13-2007, 05:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: shooting from a bench

I just let the forearm lay on the rest. my non-shooting hand has the elbow propped on the bench and supports the butt up against my shoulder. I find this to be a very steady position. Most rifle stocks are designed without a lot of drop. This should let the gun come pretty much straight back on recoil.I've never had a rifle come upmuch on recoil.
Old 02-13-2007, 07:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

You can hold pretty much anyway that is comfortable for you just dont put pressure on the barrel. I usually put gun in Uncle Buds sand bag and put left hand on top of scope or just under the trigger guard.
Old 02-13-2007, 08:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

I kinda agree with wingbone....I use my left hand to adjust and pinch the rear bag for final sight picture off the bench. I see people holding the forearm off a sandbag rest, but I don't know how they can maintain a steady sight picture this way. You gotta position the rear bag with your left hand, and hold it there thru the shot.
Old 02-13-2007, 09:08 PM